The opening of the Performing Arts Centre in 2009 is the latest milestone in an illustrious history and continues the process of educational development and innovation synonymous with The Cheltenham Ladies’ College. Since the College first opened its doors to pupils in February 1854 there has been much to experience, celebrate, record and collect.
Our Principal from 1858-1906 was Miss Dorothea Beale, whose name has become synonymous with that of College. Numbers grew so much under her leadership that College had to move from its original location to its present position, the site of the original Cheltenham spa. Today, under the leadership of our eleventh Principal, highly developed and greatly expanded facilities are enjoyed by the College community of the 21st century.
We retain a great respect for our history and we are fortunate at College to have a rich resource of archive material generously donated over the years and preserved by our Archive Department. Visitors to College can view some of our collection by visiting the archive display room where a permanent exhibition in the form of a walk-though maze tells the history of College in words and pictures.
Please contact College Archives if you would like further information or a copy of our leaflet "The Cheltenham Ladies' College - A Brief History and Guide", or our own shop (called Bookstation) to obtain a copy of the new history of College entitled "Cheltenham Ladies" by Gillian Avery.
College works closely with our association of former pupils, known as Guild. Many former pupils return to College to attend the reunions, meet and talk to current pupils and help with work experience. Information regarding Guild can be viewed in the dedicated section of this website or by visiting the association's own website, www.clcguild.org